How to delete your Google Business Profile
Local SEO is one of the most powerful ways to bring in local customers almost for free. Imagine you want to meet a friend you haven’t seen in a long time, and you’re trying to figure out where to meet. What’s the first thing you would do? Most people would grab their phones or laptops and google a restaurant nearby.
In fact, more than 4.39 billion internet users are typing on Google’s search bar right now. This has incentivised many local businesses to invest in local marketing. One of the most popular strategies is opening a Google Business Profile (GBP). A GBP gives businesses visibility for all local search results. For example, Italian restaurants near me or the best nightclub in Miami. This article will explain how to set up and claim a Google Business Profile. But what happens if you want to delete yours?
But, before deleting your business forever, keep in mind that you have two options: You can mark your business permanently closed or delete your listing. Once you delete your listing, it cannot be undone, and all information will be deleted too. This means you will lose your review on Google Maps too!
This is the Google’s warning:
“You can delete a business account if you no longer want to use it to manage locations. Deleting a business account cannot be undone. If you’re no longer responsible for a set of locations in an account, transfer ownership of the account rather than delete it.”
If you’re ready to delete your Google Business Profile, here’s a step by step guide:
Be aware that only primary owners and owners can remove the profile.
Sign in to Google My Business.
From the three-dot menu icon, click Business Profile settings.
Select Remove listing and then Remove profile content and managers.
💡 ProTip: If you don’t want to delete your Google business, you can instead mark it as permanently closed and download your data with a different service.
4. Continue and then Remove > Done.
Deleting your Google Business profile also deletes your listing from Google maps, but there’s a way to remove your business from Maps without deleting your Google Business profile.
How to delete your listing from Google Maps only:
Go to Google Maps.
Sign in with the account linked to your Business Profile.
Find your business and click Suggest an edit.
Click Close or remove.
Then, a request will be submitted to delete the listing, and the Google team will review it. Once it’s reviewed, you will receive an email with follow-up questions from Google’s team. Then, the listing will be removed from Maps.
If you gave up on getting your Google listing to the top of Google Maps and Google Search, Merchynt could give you a hand! We deliver tangible results within six months. Cheaper than ads or marketing.
All businesses (especially local businesses) need help with some form of marketing. The good news is that you don't need to become an expert in every single aspect of digital marketing to scale your marketing business. Instead, you can partner with the right white label marketing firm, like Merchynt. Request a Free local marketing consultation call to help your business rank on Google’s first page.